Soulsby Synths Forum

Products => Atmegatron => Topic started by: ploom2 on November 18, 2015, 07:55:11 PM

Title: OdyTron
Post by: ploom2 on November 18, 2015, 07:55:11 PM
heya..

the odytron looks and sounds nice.
I was wondering when the software & overlay image might be available for us regular people ?

the black case is nice, and the price is pretty good considering the extras included.
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: paulsoulsby on November 19, 2015, 07:46:51 AM
Thanks!

Yes the Odytron will be available for regular Atmegatron owners too.  Plus there will be a professional vinyl overlay too, or the print out if you wish to do it yourself (with colours inversed, so it uses less ink!).

It'll be launched in time for Xmas (although it's gonna be close!)

Paul
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: Graeme on December 14, 2015, 09:15:16 AM
Arrived home form work on Friday just in time to collect my Odytron - had a "lost weekend" doodling with it and learning some of the tricks it can play , well  it's certainly unlike anyhting else I've used, both with respect to sound and interface - but I sense a lot of use of this little fella as it fills a hole in my set up just right :D
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: ploom2 on December 15, 2015, 11:32:26 PM
Must be time to release the source 😀
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: Graeme on December 21, 2015, 09:32:48 AM
Is there a way to restore the Odytron preset sounds without using s/w?
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: paulsoulsby on December 22, 2015, 05:57:01 PM
Hmm, no not at the moment.  I knew there was a reason why I needed to create an Odytron Librarian!!  I'll create a software version that can be uploaded which restores the factory sounds.  I should be able to do that over the next few days. 
I may well create an Odytron Librarian app in time.  I think I'll do the switch from Java to JUCE first though.
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: Graeme on December 23, 2015, 10:16:59 AM
Ah thanks, is not a problem though - I just muddled the 'save' & 'load' button presses and overwrote a couple of presets, doh!
Won't have access to a computer for a week or so anyway so no rush :)
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: charliesays on January 24, 2016, 09:41:10 PM
Hi hope it's ok to resurrect an older thread... just wondering if/ when the Odytron software is likely to be available? I LOVE this synth, so powerful and so much fun to play... working on an Atmegatron only tune right now and very curious about the Odytron sound!  ;)
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: paulsoulsby on January 25, 2016, 06:41:16 AM
Not long now!  Feb 1st is the official release of both the software and the synth. There will be the arduino sketch, the overlay, as well as professional overlay and instruction manual.  And I'm really hoping to have the new 'easy-uploader' ready by then.  More about that soon.
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: charliesays on January 25, 2016, 02:21:17 PM
Excellent, thanks Paul! Can't wait...
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: ask DNA on February 05, 2016, 01:15:49 AM
Greetings from Canada!

I just downloaded and successfully installed the Odytron software.  All parameters seem to work (and sound) great - with the exception of MIDI.  For some reason, with Odytron installed, I can't get it to respond to MIDI.

I went back and installed classic Atmegatron, and that works without problems.  After re-installing Odytron, still no MIDI response.  Am I missing something?

Thanks for your help!
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: ask DNA on February 05, 2016, 01:27:58 AM
Oh wait... I get it.  There's no MIDI file included in the download.
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: Todd on February 05, 2016, 07:08:35 AM
Same thing happened to me. Pressing down the right encoder worked to hear it but midi would not trigger. I had to use the steps to see the midi channel manually because from software it was set to 0. Changed and saved it to midi channel 1 and all was fixed. Hope this helps.
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: paulsoulsby on February 05, 2016, 09:41:47 PM
Interesting - I'll try and replicate the problem here and let you know what I find.  I've now added software MIDI thru as another setting.  That may have had some kind of effect.
(to turn MIDI thru on, press the function knob in Midi channel mode.  red = midi thru on, yellow = off.  Only use it when needed, as it uses processor power).
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: ask DNA on February 07, 2016, 12:14:24 AM
Same thing happened to me. Pressing down the right encoder worked to hear it but midi would not trigger. I had to use the steps to see the midi channel manually because from software it was set to 0. Changed and saved it to midi channel 1 and all was fixed. Hope this helps.

Hey Todd, I'm not sure what you did to change this, mind throwing me a screenshot or step-by-step, if you have a chance?  Thanks.
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: Todd on February 07, 2016, 06:44:58 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=5I15aCvTlA0&list=PLDcFte8-TVxxQvigU84_zf5nRcnkYdIO5&app=desktop the quick video guide how to change the midi channel manually that Paul made. If the link does not work it is on their youtube channel.
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: ask DNA on February 07, 2016, 05:19:06 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=youtu.be&v=5I15aCvTlA0&list=PLDcFte8-TVxxQvigU84_zf5nRcnkYdIO5&app=desktop the quick video guide how to change the midi channel manually that Paul made. If the link does not work it is on their youtube channel.

Thanks. I was sure I'd seen this somewhere, but when I couldn't find it in the manual, I thought I was losing my mind. Will give this a shot.

Thanks again!
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: paulsoulsby on February 07, 2016, 06:47:14 PM
Hi,
Here's the MIDI channel tutorial: https://youtu.be/5I15aCvTlA0 (https://youtu.be/5I15aCvTlA0)
Try changing it to another MIDI channel (ie not the one you require), then back to the one you require.   See if it then works.
Also push function knob and toggle to red, then back to yellow again (while in MIDI channel mode).
If still no response to MIDI, let me know
Paul
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: ask DNA on February 08, 2016, 08:07:31 AM
Switching MIDI channel worked! I switched from default (presumably 1) to the very next, clockwise (presumably 2), and magical success! Surprisingly warm sounding crunchy 8-bit deliciousness!

Paul: for curiosity's sake, I changed it back to default, and was back to no MIDI. I was able to repeat above, and got back to success. Hope this is helpful for future troubleshooting.

Thanks Todd and Paul.
Title: Re: OdyTron
Post by: Todd on February 09, 2016, 08:19:13 AM
Your welcome! I knew Paul would step in to help, but glad to try and lend my own experience too.