Author Topic: OdyTron  (Read 3020 times)

OdyTron

« on: November 18, 2015, 07:55:11 PM »
Open quickbuttons

ploom2

Posts: 21

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
heya..

the odytron looks and sounds nice.
I was wondering when the software & overlay image might be available for us regular people ?

the black case is nice, and the price is pretty good considering the extras included.

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2015, 07:46:51 AM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 171

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Thanks!

Yes the Odytron will be available for regular Atmegatron owners too.  Plus there will be a professional vinyl overlay too, or the print out if you wish to do it yourself (with colours inversed, so it uses less ink!).

It'll be launched in time for Xmas (although it's gonna be close!)

Paul

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2015, 09:15:16 AM »
Open quickbuttons

Graeme

Posts: 5

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Arrived home form work on Friday just in time to collect my Odytron - had a "lost weekend" doodling with it and learning some of the tricks it can play , well  it's certainly unlike anyhting else I've used, both with respect to sound and interface - but I sense a lot of use of this little fella as it fills a hole in my set up just right :D

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2015, 11:32:26 PM »
Open quickbuttons

ploom2

Posts: 21

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Must be time to release the source 😀

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2015, 09:32:48 AM »
Open quickbuttons

Graeme

Posts: 5

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Is there a way to restore the Odytron preset sounds without using s/w?

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #5 on: December 22, 2015, 05:57:01 PM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 171

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Hmm, no not at the moment.  I knew there was a reason why I needed to create an Odytron Librarian!!  I'll create a software version that can be uploaded which restores the factory sounds.  I should be able to do that over the next few days. 
I may well create an Odytron Librarian app in time.  I think I'll do the switch from Java to JUCE first though.

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2015, 10:16:59 AM »
Open quickbuttons

Graeme

Posts: 5

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Ah thanks, is not a problem though - I just muddled the 'save' & 'load' button presses and overwrote a couple of presets, doh!
Won't have access to a computer for a week or so anyway so no rush :)

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2016, 09:41:10 PM »
Open quickbuttons

charliesays

Posts: 7

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Hi hope it's ok to resurrect an older thread... just wondering if/ when the Odytron software is likely to be available? I LOVE this synth, so powerful and so much fun to play... working on an Atmegatron only tune right now and very curious about the Odytron sound!  ;)

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #8 on: January 25, 2016, 06:41:16 AM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 171

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Not long now!  Feb 1st is the official release of both the software and the synth. There will be the arduino sketch, the overlay, as well as professional overlay and instruction manual.  And I'm really hoping to have the new 'easy-uploader' ready by then.  More about that soon.

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2016, 02:21:17 PM »
Open quickbuttons

charliesays

Posts: 7

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Excellent, thanks Paul! Can't wait...

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #10 on: February 05, 2016, 01:15:49 AM »
Open quickbuttons

ask DNA

Posts: 5

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Greetings from Canada!

I just downloaded and successfully installed the Odytron software.  All parameters seem to work (and sound) great - with the exception of MIDI.  For some reason, with Odytron installed, I can't get it to respond to MIDI.

I went back and installed classic Atmegatron, and that works without problems.  After re-installing Odytron, still no MIDI response.  Am I missing something?

Thanks for your help!

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #11 on: February 05, 2016, 01:27:58 AM »
Open quickbuttons

ask DNA

Posts: 5

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Oh wait... I get it.  There's no MIDI file included in the download.

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #12 on: February 05, 2016, 07:08:35 AM »
Open quickbuttons

Todd

Posts: 3

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Same thing happened to me. Pressing down the right encoder worked to hear it but midi would not trigger. I had to use the steps to see the midi channel manually because from software it was set to 0. Changed and saved it to midi channel 1 and all was fixed. Hope this helps.

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2016, 09:41:47 PM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 171

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Interesting - I'll try and replicate the problem here and let you know what I find.  I've now added software MIDI thru as another setting.  That may have had some kind of effect.
(to turn MIDI thru on, press the function knob in Midi channel mode.  red = midi thru on, yellow = off.  Only use it when needed, as it uses processor power).

Re: OdyTron

« Reply #14 on: February 07, 2016, 12:14:24 AM »
Open quickbuttons

ask DNA

Posts: 5

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Same thing happened to me. Pressing down the right encoder worked to hear it but midi would not trigger. I had to use the steps to see the midi channel manually because from software it was set to 0. Changed and saved it to midi channel 1 and all was fixed. Hope this helps.

Hey Todd, I'm not sure what you did to change this, mind throwing me a screenshot or step-by-step, if you have a chance?  Thanks.