Author Topic: trouble uploading atcylotron software  (Read 2741 times)

trouble uploading atcylotron software

« on: February 13, 2015, 08:28:01 PM »
Open quickbuttons

mharpum

Posts: 8

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Hello, sorry to be such an arduino noob. I'm loving the atmegatron so thought I would have a go at uploading the atcylotron, I have followed your install video and done everything up to the point of uploading the software to the device and I get this error message in arduino software:


Arduino: 1.6.0 (Windows 8), Board: "Arduino Uno"

Hardware.ino:19:75: fatal error: MCP23S17.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
Error compiling.

  This report would have more information with
  "Show verbose output during compilation"
  enabled in File > Preferences.


I get this one in the previous version of arduino:

Arduino: 1.5.8 (Windows 8), Board: "Arduino Uno"

Hardware.ino:19:75: fatal error: MCP23S17.h: No such file or directory
compilation terminated.
Error compiling.

  This report would have more information with
  "Show verbose output during compilation"
  enabled in File > Preferences.


Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Re: trouble uploading atcylotron software

« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2015, 11:23:40 AM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 171

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Hi,
Ah - Arduino have recently updated their software to a completely different system (1.6.0).
All this code is for the old system (1.0.5).
You can get it here: 
(windows) http://arduino.googlecode.com/files/arduino-1.0.5-r2-windows.exe
(mac) http://arduino.googlecode.com/files/arduino-1.0.5-macosx.zip

I do have all the code working under 1.6.0. I will update the whole downloads page soon to reflect this.  Definitely go with 1.0.5 for now though.

P.S.  Did you download the libraries?  http://soulsbysynths.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/03/libraries.zip
These go in the your / Documents / Arduino /  folder

Re: trouble uploading atcylotron software

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2015, 01:43:00 PM »
Open quickbuttons

mharpum

Posts: 8

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Thanks for the speedy reply! I shall get it downloaded and have a go in a bit. I did get the libraries folder, I am guessing the previous version I used wasn't old enough! Thanks again, I will let you know how it goes and what I think of the new software.

Cheers Paul!

Re: trouble uploading atcylotron software

« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2015, 04:05:33 PM »
Open quickbuttons

mharpum

Posts: 8

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Right, I've had a go with the older version. Sorry to keep posting but I don't have a clue about arduino, I am now getting this error message:

Hardware:47: error: 'MCP' does not name a type
Hardware:48: error: 'MCP' does not name a type
Hardware:49: error: 'MCP' does not name a type
Hardware:50: error: 'Encoder' does not name a type
Hardware:51: error: 'Encoder' does not name a type
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Init_Hardware()':
Hardware:92: error: 'hard_bg_func' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:93: error: 'hard_bg_val' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:94: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Hardware_Poll()':
Hardware:127: error: 'hard_enc_func' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:156: error: 'hard_enc_val' was not declared in this scope
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Hardware_Refresh_FuncBG()':
Hardware:413: error: 'hard_bg_func' was not declared in this scope
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Hardware_Refresh_ValBG()':
Hardware:483: error: 'hard_bg_val' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:486: error: 'hard_bg_val' was not declared in this scope
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Hardware_Refresh_CtrlBankLED()':
Hardware:504: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:508: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Hardware_Refresh_ShiftLED(byte)':
Hardware:543: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:547: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Hardware_LED_SetState(byte, byte)':
Hardware:610: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Hardware_LED_StartFlash(byte, byte)':
Hardware:616: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:620: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware.ino: In function 'void Hardware_LED_RefreshFlash()':
Hardware:636: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:640: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:645: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope
Hardware:649: error: 'hard_bg_led' was not declared in this scope

Any ideas would be helpful, sorry im such an arduino noob!

Re: trouble uploading atcylotron software

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2015, 08:38:01 PM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 171

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Ok this sounds like your folder structure is wrong.  Arduino is very fussy about where you store your project folders.  The structure should be:
My Documents
     Arduino
         Atcyclotron_1_0
               Atcyclotron_1_0.ino    (run this)
               ...other .ino files
         Libraries
                Encoder
                     Encoder library files
                MCP23S17
                     MCP library files

If your folders are in this structure, it should compile OK.  You can't run projects from the downloads folder or desktop.  Make sure that there's only 1 libraries folder (not a libraries folder within a libraries folder).



Re: trouble uploading atcylotron software

« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2015, 12:41:07 PM »
Open quickbuttons

mharpum

Posts: 8

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Thanks Paul, you were right! I had a library folder within another library folder, thanks for your help, much appreciated!

I am liking the atcylotron software, I like the wave cycle length and loop, you can get some cool sounds. From a users perspective I think it needs a filter, and being able change the octave on the waveforms would also be useful.  Just a few ideas, I realise you are a busy man! Are you doing a second batch of atmegatrons or are you focusing on a v2 or another synth?

Cheers again, now to get down to some tunes!   

Re: trouble uploading atcylotron software

« Reply #6 on: February 15, 2015, 04:25:10 PM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 171

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Yeah the Atcyclotron is really only for demoing that you can tweak the software and create new features.  Apart from the wavetable cycling it's very similar to the original.
I'd really recommend the Delayertron and Atmegadrum.  They're completely different machines.  The Duotron has an interesting sound too.  There's a really major new software version in development at the mo.  I think it may even give the standard Atmegatron software a run for it's money!!
There will be a new batch of Atmegatrons soon.  Virtually the same from a user point of view.  There's some new projects in development too.
Paul