Author Topic: CC for Volume  (Read 184 times)

CC for Volume

« on: October 06, 2017, 12:22:04 PM »
Open quickbuttons

rio

Posts: 24

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
Hi,

i can't see any CC to control volume via CC (normaly #CC 007) . It is technically possible - maybe by modifing code?

Greetings,
rio

Re: CC for Volume

« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2017, 10:48:07 PM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 190

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Hi the function to call is in: https://github.com/soulsbysynths/libraries/blob/master/Amplifier/Amplifier.h 

You need to set a value for EnvLevel.  You can do this in the CC list in the normal place in the engine (AtmEngine::midiControlChangeReceived).  However you'll have to call the amplifier directly, not via the patch.  Also ... be warned, by setting the volume digitally  you are changing the bit rate of the sound.  So if you set the bit rate to half, you're changing the 8 bit sound to a 7 bit more.  Halve it again and it's a 6 bit sound.

It's how the miniAtmegatron works, but I didn't think it was suitable for the full Atmegatron, hence the analogue pot.

Re: CC for Volume

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2017, 08:56:42 AM »
Open quickbuttons

rio

Posts: 24

Offline
  • *
  • Newbie
    • View Profile
ah ok thanks. Good to know, whats going on inside. So for my purpose (sequencing a "fade" in or "fade out" could be better performed by CCs for amp attack / decay - but I havn't tried yet)

Re: CC for Volume

« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2017, 12:22:15 PM »
Open quickbuttons

paulsoulsby

Posts: 190

Offline
  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Full Member
    • View Profile
Yes amp envelope would be good, if it's just a fade in and out on each note.  There's nothing wrong with setting the volume digitally for effects, but it wouldn't be a good way for setting the fixed volume of each song.  (ie sending out a volume CC when you load a song).